O Brother, Where Art Thou? | Film No. 30

So apparently, this film is based upon The Odyssey by Homer.  I am basically uneducated swine, and I have never read it.  So I have no idea if it is a good interpretation of the story.  However, I still love the story, the Coen Brothers visuals, and most of all, the soundtrack.

brother_prim

First off, the production design and filming are like nothing I have seen before.  From the cars, to the sets, everything in frame is perfect and contributes to the story.  In addition to that, each still frame is an artistic portrait.  It is so nice to watch a film that is utterly perfect in every shot.

A second high point in this film is the camaraderie between the three main characters; Everett, Pete, and Delmar.  The casting and writing for these characters is on point. George Clooney is a stand out in the whole film.  He is a slick talking pseudo criminal who is just trying to get back to his family and his Dapper Dan hair products.

Finally, the music is awesome.  It is a collection from actual artists, (plus someone dubbing over George Clooney) and all of the songs are my favorite.  It is not often that a film soundtrack is perfectly cohesive and can stand alone as an album. A few stand out songs are “Down in the River” and “Man of Constant Sorrows.”

This film is not a straight forward favorite of mine.  I like it and sometimes have a hankering to watch it, however, it is not an all time favorite of mine.  The soundtrack is unparalleled and I would highly recommend it.  Go listen to the soundtrack, then watch the movie if the photos look nice to you.

 

This post is part of my year end challenge to watch every movie that I own.  If you want to see the original post with a full list of all of the films.  Click here.

 

One thought on “O Brother, Where Art Thou? | Film No. 30

Leave a comment