The Matrix | Film No. 12

Possibly the most overrated film in history, which inspired directors everywhere to use a ton of wirework and pleather in their films.  Personally, I think it was just what the world needed on the cusp of the year 2000 and can respect that it is beloved by many.  However, the acting and writing leaves quite a bit to be desired. *come at me, bro*

giphy-4

I love a consistent color palette, but the green color for the world inside the matrix is hard to stomach some times.  Also the delivery of lines is so manipulated by direction that there are no human reactions left.  Also, I have to believe that someone could have given Hugo Weaving better direction than “pretend like you have a stick up your butt.”

On a more positive note, the action in the film is legendary. I am never mad about the mix of martial arts, wirework, and slow motion camera work. I think most of the special effects budget went to just adding waves around the bullets and random scenes into Morpheus’ glasses.

In terms of re-watching, I feel like it is important to own, but that I will probably not watch it again for a while. (like in 2-5 years)

3HeG

 

 

This post is part of my year-end challenge to watch every movie that I own.  If you want to see the original post with a full list of all of the films.  Click here.

 

Leave a comment