The Ringer | Film No. 37

So I have been obsessed with Johnny Knoxville since Men in Black II and the era of Viva La Bam.  This film was inevitable for me to watch and has been one of my favorites since 2005 when it came out.  As with all films that I rewatch, I am always terrified that I will see something new that is insensitive or wrong (or that the film was produced by the Weinstein’s).  However, I love that this film is still as precious and funny as the first time I watched it.

The Ringer follows Steve (Johnny Knoxville) as he tries to save his friend’s fingers.  His uncle hatches a plan to rig the special olympics in order to pay for his gambling debts and Steve’s friend’s fingers. However, Steve’s fellow athletes realize that he is different in a matter of minutes and, after telling them about his friend, they help him try to win.

Is this movie perfect? No.  Is it trying to be? Also, no.  It is a comedy that feels like most of the films that Johnny Knoxville is in, and is not trying to be anything else.  It is sweet, while also being savage. It is also SUPER quotable.  Me and my sister referenced this film exclusively for about a year.  It truly is, a great movie.

If you are wanting to watch a film that has heart but also some water balloon shots to the nuts, it is a solid choice. 13/10 

This post is part of my year end challenge to watch every movie that I own.  If you want to see the original post with a full list of all of the films.  Click here.

One thought on “The Ringer | Film No. 37

Leave a comment